Flaunt Vicko Electric Bike—Making the Grade

Flaunt Vicko Electric Bike—Making the Grade.

Just a solid, good riding everyday bike. That’s what most want I would think.

Today’s title on the Vicko from Flaunt has two meanings. Of course part of the reason you ride an E-bike is to make it up the rises (grades) in the road easily. The Vicko has this covered just fine. I guess too that I am in the grading business (if you want to call it that). On most every level of judging I give this new electric bike a “A”. Also, in the category of not being radially over-priced or having a bunch of stuff and features nobody needs, it gets an “A” there too.

The crowd-funding world is on a big spike nowadays. Right now that is where you can find the Vicko (and their other model the Atticus). They won’t be there forever, but if you follow them there you can get on the Flaunt bandwagon at a reduced price. I try not to let the cost rule my opinions of the bikes, yet it is important to figure that into the equation a bit as I ride and report on cool E-bikes. All cost matters aside, I had a great time riding this Vicko and found it to be a quality and solid mount.

7 speeds, 500 watts, disc brakes.

It isn’t lacking power and features, as that 500 watt geared motor and extra range lithium battery make a good team for the long rides. The saddle and cockpit position are on the same page, keeping me comfortable and smiling as the miles rolled by at maybe 18 mph. It does top out at close to 22, yet I cruise a little slower, keeping me happy and letting the bike battery max out the distances between recharges. I like saving some extra juice for the steeper hills and the last couple miles of a ride.

So we are talking 36 volts and 15.6 Ah of power swirling inside the rack mounted battery. That is a bit more that what might be considered the standard, and who doesn’t like that? The dual-control system that runs the motor also has some features that most E-bikes can’t boast about. One is the fully overriding throttle and the other is the adjustable soft-start circuitry. They call it power control, but what it really does is smooth out the jolt as the power comes on, while letting the battery save some power. You can chose one of three settings very easily. Watch my climbing video for a better description of both of these pluses.

An ok front fork and disc brakes lead the way.

When it comes to the total feel of what this E-bike does, I was impressed. Nothing really special so to speak, just a solid feel with most everything you are going to need from your E-bike. Each component does its job, seems quality enough, and gets you down the road with confidence. You can get E-bikes with every best piece imaginable, yet having an everyday decent bike that most can afford is my goal, and I would think the goal of most every bike rider you will meet.

So, Flaunt has this bike and their diamond framed bike, the Atticus. This one comes in 3 different colors. The other has a 4 color choice. Each can come with cool street tires or some rugged off-road meats. Both bikes are outfitted very much the same, including factory bright lights, kickstand, bell, rear rack, and what might be considered a chain guard. I am seeing the only real option not included but needed (for me at least) is a pair of plastic fenders. They don’t come with the bike, yet are inexpensive and easy to install.

This is the way the Flaunt Vicko arrived. It was up and riding in no time at all.

On the subject of installing, this bike will come to you in a box and need to be assembled. The day may come where you can go to the local E-bike shop and get it ready to ride, but that day isn’t today. Luckily, it is a breeze to put together. Just 2 bolts for the handle bars, 1 quick-release skewer for the front wheel and 2 pedals are the whole story. I did need to make one adjustment, yet I found everything else to be fully tightened and adjusted. Most bikes that come to me in a box need so much more. I actually enjoy the assembly, doing the adjustments and the long term maintenance. If you don’t or can’t, make sure to find a person you trust to build it and maintain it.

Bright lighting is part of the package.

There is much to love with this Vicko. I try not to go on and on about each bit and piece. I suggest you watch the three videos I posted to get some more details and insights. Their sales site has plenty of the specifications if you want to dive in deeper. Stuff like 7 speeds, aluminum frame, how the tail light works as a brake light (when the lights are off), and stuff like that. During the campaign (a few more days) they have specials, if you want a second battery or even a pair of bikes. Even when that is over, it seems they will be at a decent buy-in rate.

I sometimes mention it during review (not always though), that one of my criteria on any bike is my own personal interest level. Sure, all the bikes are usually fun and all that, but how much do they really catch my eye? Is a given bike something I would ride past the test period? Would I actually consider buying one for myself? You know—would I really want one? This basic question burns with each mile on any bike, I am sure you feel it when riding a friend’s bike or a shop’s floor model.

Your information center.

The answer to this question on today’s test bike is a solid yes. It has all I am looking for, rides great, all the power and speed I need, and in general is a decent E-bike. I do like the fact they didn’t go overboard with weird body work or extra stuff nobody needs. It looks like a regular bike and that is the way I like them. The people behind the bike seem sincere in their desire for a great product, and they aren’t some big heartless mega firm either.

I just want to ride, and the Vicko lets me do that, Turbo Bob.

“You’re only one bike ride away from a good mood.”—Basic bike quote.

Check them out on their site or Facebook.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/flaunt-electric-bicycle-bike#/

Here are the 3 videos I added to my You-Tube site about the Vicko.

About Turbo Bob's Bicycle Blog

E-bike Enthusiast Vintage Bike Enthusiast
This entry was posted in E-bike test reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

