Pedego Boomerang Plus—Easy Stepping E-bike

Pedego Boomerang Plus—Easy Stepping E-bike.

Comfort and fun ready to ride.

I am often heard to say “If it doesn’t have fenders, a chain guard and a kickstand, it can’t be much of a bike.” The term ’comfort, step-through bike’ comes to my lips to counter claims that I sometimes ride a ‘girl’s’ bike. With all the low-framed bikes I have ridden (and own), this one really pushes those word to the limit. When I first saw the Pedego Boomerang in its secret prototype stage, I knew it was an E-bike that would appeal to many. Seems I was right, as it has been selling like crazy since the first production model hit our shores.

I have offered up a couple of my favorite quotes, yet when I tell you I believe that Pedego worked with Biria Bicycles to produce the Boomerang, best not to quote me on that. I am sure that is what I heard way back though. I would think you can imagine on your own why this new E-bike is being received so well. Pedego has always worked hard to welcome baby boomers and senior citizens to the world of E-bikes, and this bike is more proof of that. Be sure that this bike is for folks of all ages and genders, as comfort is a universal language.

The business end? More like the beginning of fun.

As far as the mechanical and electrics go, this bike uses many of the tried and trued pieces that have brought Pedego big success. The rear hub motor is powerful and quiet, utilizing internal gears of a unique material that gives them long life and smooth operation. They are now using these motors on most their bikes, bringing the rear disc brake to them too. Only the best lithium ion Samsung cells fill the battery case, with several options in voltage and capacity.

Your color options are limited (red and black) with the Pedego Boomerang, which seems surprising when you consider their Comfort Cruiser color range is a virtual rainbow. Let’s get the option thing covered, as there are several. They have the Boomerang and the Boomerang Plus. The standard model is a throttle only bike, including a rear light (built into the battery), but no front. The 4 battery choices are—36 volt in either 10 Ah or 15 Ah, and 48 volt in those same 2 capacities. Some ok white wall tires are on the base model, or you can upgrade to the awesome Schwalbe Fat Franks in one of 4 colors.

Plenty of info here, control too. The USB port is on the bottom just out of sight.

The Plus is even better equipped. It has the 48 volt system, yet once again you get the option of the 15 Ah extended range battery over the stock 10 Ah one. Fat Franks are on-board, with those same 4 colors to be picked by you. The real plus here is the pedelec feature that includes the USB equipped control / display panel. The pedelec part means that the power-assist can come on automatically each time you pedal (and turn off when you stop). It has 5 levels of power selectable, and the hand throttle will work anytime without re-toggling the control panel’s push buttons. Add the decent front headlamp (that runs off the motor’s battery) to round out the package.

So, all that and no fenders? Well fear not, they too are available in any color you want. The chain guard is a full encirclement unit and the kickstand is the strongest one you will see on any bike. I was pleased to find this bike so fully equipped, all I added were the front and rear Pedego bags I got my hands on at the beginning of the year. Also a extra rear light that blinks, and a very bright headlamp when riding at night. The factory light is fine for low-speed neighborhood rides, but not for the open road.

Low, sleek and strong—the Boomerang’s frame.

The aluminum frame appears to be ultra beefy with plenty of re-enforcement spanning the curved sections. The bars are a good fit for this bike, a bit more swept back and narrow than the ones Pedego uses on their cruisers. The saddle is plenty comfy, yet if you crave the long rides, you will crave a sleeker perch. I noticed the suspension seat post is a much nicer piece than used on past Pedego E-bikes, and it works much better. Enough of all the numbers and such, let’s ride.

It has taken some time to get used to enjoying the advantage of the easy mounting of the bike, and every now and then I still sling my leg from around, over the back. The seating position is very upright and much to my personal liking. The soft handgrips sometimes seem too slippery when hitting the rough stuff at speed, and I might consider some different ones if this bike were mine. Those top-end balloon tires and the sprung seat tend to take the edge off any bumpiness, and are much preferred to maintenance needy front or rear suspensions. If you seek a smoother ride the tires can be set as low as 35 lbs, with the max of 70 really firming things up. I found about 60 to fit my riding style the best.

Twist, shift, and go.

I could spend several paragraphs on the power system’s control and how I utilize it. Pedego’s first foray into pedelec controlled bikes were programmed pretty good, but with the minor changes they’ve made, now I am really happy with the way they work. The controls are right at hand without reaching or pulling a hand from the bars. Choosing between assist levels can easily happen without even taking your eyes from the road. A full burst (or less) of power can had any time for starting out, or easing through tight traffic situations, without changing your set assist level on the control panel.

With just the right amount of braking power, these same brakes are on the back wheel too.

You will find 7 gears, yet in almost all my riding, I normally use just a couple. A mid-gear is fine for starting and lower riding speeds (because the motor takes up the slack), and gearing up when riding faster is easy and preferred. I only used the lower gears (1-3) when pushing up some of the steeper grades. Not having to depend on all the gears is one of the big benefits of having a hub motored E-bike. When riding with no power it is much like a standard heavy 7-speed beach cruiser. Fully doable, but a little tough. Another great E-bike feature is that you are able to choose the amount of exercise you get, most of the time it is the motor doing 50% of the work and you doing the rest.

If you are concerned about running out of battery power, then opt for the extended range battery. Chances are you won’t need it, but the net is full of stories of people doing 50 mile + rides and still having half a battery charge left. If you are the type who expects not to pedal too much, having the larger capacity battery can be a plus. It seems since this battery has become available, most Pedegos sold are asked to be equipped with it. It isn’t that much more, so why not splurge on that option?

With the Pedego front and rear bags on-board, I am ready to roll.

I tried hard to find fault with the Pedego Boomerang Plus. I have fully failed in this respect. The one thought I have in this direction is that if you plan on doing stunts and curb jumping, them maybe one of their Interceptor models might be better suited for you. I wouldn’t expect to see any issues with this E-bike in even some pretty severe riding conditions, yet all out mania on the Boomerang would be good to avoid.

You can’t go wrong with a Pedego—and you can quote me on that, Turbo Bob.

“After your first day of cycling, one dream is inevitable.”—H.G. Wells.

On the web and Facebook you will find Pedego and a slew of their dealers

http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/

https://www.facebook.com/PedegoElectricBikes?fref=ts

Here are a couple walkaround videos of the Boomerang Plus I posted.

 

 

About Turbo Bob's Bicycle Blog

E-bike Enthusiast Vintage Bike Enthusiast
This entry was posted in E-bike test reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pedego Boomerang Plus—Easy Stepping E-bike

  1. akmccue says:

    I really like the concept of the boomerang for all the reasons you stated yet when I went to test ride it I found the seating position not to my liking. It felt like I was pedaling too much underneath my seat. The Interceptor felt better to me. I was very dissapointed because I like that low step through.

    • I get that same feeling on some bikes. Part of it is the one-size-fits-all deal with so many bikes. There are adjustments on the seat and post that could help. And there are different seats and posts that can help get them where you are more comfortable.
      I agree that on the whole, you don’t get that feeling as much on an Interceptor.
      One thing I find with many test rides at dealers is that they can have the saddle set all wrong (brake levers and bars too) so you feel it is a bike problem when it could just be a adjustment problem. With any test bike I actually get to bring home, the second thing I do (after checking the security of all fasteners) is to get the saddle, bars and levers into the best sweet spot for me. Sometimes I can hit it, but sometimes not.
      Thanks for reading and commenting. Are you riding that Interceptor yet? If not, have that dealer spend the time to see if some adjustments can bring the Boomerang to a place better suited for your riding fit. I am sure they will want to get you on the E-bike that makes you the happiest.

  2. Jeff Arnold says:

    Certainly a Biria frame. My wife rides a Biria Ez Boarding with a Hilltopper kit and loves it.

Leave a Reply

