EcoReco M5—Smooth Sailing

EcoReco M5—Smooth Sailing.

The EcoReco M5 in all its glory

A year ago I got my hands on a EcoReco M3 electric scooter, and time has flown down the road, just like the M3. I’ve had dozens, definitely hundreds give it a try, people from 8 to 87. With visions of having their own, each ride ended with a big smile and a message of thanks. The flow of convenience, savings and fun comes with every pull on the throttle lever. I’ve heard the same on-line, but with a few mentioning the ride could be on the rough side. I guess EcoReco heard the same, so they paired up a new machine, the M5 for those folks.

 
The M5 EcoReco has everything the M3 has, but one extra wanted feature. And that would be a rear suspension to complement the front one. So if you wanted the stuff this electric scooter offers, but a smoother ride, the M5 is for you. On ultra flat roads and walkways the original is like a flying carpet, with a just a hint of noise, no vibes, and the sound of rushing air at your ears. As things get more grated, the bars and footboard transmit much of what the wheels feel. This is something that rarely bothered me every time I rode it.

 

A close-up of the rear suspension that helps make it so much smoother than the M3

I will first tell you that the solid wheels (no flats—big plus) run easy, but transmit the feel of the pavement. So the added plus of the rear suspension can really cut down on the jarring that might be a concern. The suspension is mostly a lever type, with polymer bushings doing the work. It appears simple with no adjustments. Yet the small movement there does make a very noticeable difference. I can’t say how much it alters the weight or the cost, but my guess is not much.

Back to the solid wheels. I would think there are other options, but these are long-lived items that I’m sure have been chosen by EcoReco with care. They grip the road well, but on wet surfaces the traction is much less, yet some big fun was had riding on slippery, wet parking lot surfaces. Pneumatic or honeycombed tires might smooth the ride, yet would bring a lack of long term life to the table (and other issues I’m sure).

 

Here you can see the solid tires and front suspension.

There are things about the EcoReco that just scream reliability. There is no drivetrain, no chains, no gears. The brushless hub motor is the rear rim. It seems it couldn’t be more solid and trouble-free in this department. The large Lithium battery is fully enclosed in the aircraft grade chassis. Every piece of the scooter is built to last and take maximum abuse. The safety throttle and the kickstand are my two favorite features.

 
When I was first approached to spend time with the EcoReco M3, I was a little hesitant. I am big on E-bikes, but have little experience with powered scooters. I could tell right off how well it worked, how well it was built, how useful it was, and that the fun factor was strong. Since then a friend who has been in the business for 25 years, Sam at Myron’s Extreme Machines, has enlightened me to his opinion on the M3. He says in all his years and products sold, the EcoReco is the best electric scooter he has ever encountered or offered in his shop. Great testimonial.

The M5 folds small. You can also collapse the bars for another level of compactness.

I would think by now you have read my review on the M3. Everything there translates to the M5. They are the same machine with only three differences I can find. The rear suspension of course, the charge plug is on the opposite side of the deck, and the brakes seems to just work a little stronger. That and the wheels are red, a color option that you can get on either scooter I believe. One other option is a carry bag with a shoulder strap.

 
Let’s talk performance. So that you know, I weigh about 185 lbs. Weight of the rider and cargo is a big variable when you look to what you can expect from the M5 (or M3). All my info here is with me on-board, but I had people of all sizes try it out. On level ground I had no problem doing 20 mph (and a little more). The M5 hits 15 pretty quick, and from there the motor winds out to max speed a little slower. The first pull on the throttle lever gets your attention with a gentle surge, but from there it offers the smoothest of control.

 

Here is the control center. The display has lots of info for your ride.

Expect the top speed to be less on grades and carrying more weight than me. And most won’t, and probably shouldn’t, go full speed anyway. The climbing ability is good. It is hard to say the grade levels that it can handle. Of course really steep stuff like in San Francisco will not be conquered by its motor power alone. On some of the tougher hills I took I added to the power with my legs, just like a kick-scooter. Most all the time the EcoReco’s motor hauled me up and down each road all by itself. There is more power than you might expect.

 
Range, most likely the most asked question on any electric-powered vehicle, how far will it go? I read on EcoReco’s site that if you weigh 170, hold a steady 17 mph on level ground, it will do 17 miles on each charge. From my experiences this might be true, and I even considered trying it for myself. Finding 17 miles of level ground isn’t happening here in my town. And holding a steady exact speed seemed just a tad impossible too.

 

#213   EcoReco M5   both

We rode the M3 and M5 at our recent CicloSDias (San Diego car-free streets). Perfect machines for the perfect day.

I rarely ran the power right to the end (and its not the best thing to do with a lithium battery anyway). I would say my best distance on a full charge was closer to 12 miles. That included hills, full power blasts, and letting many others try it out. 12 miles is a long way on a scooter, so I think that is more than satisfactory. On one occasion I was with a group of people on bikes at Fiesta Island. I held full power continually (20 mph) and made just under 6 miles on that charge. The motor got kind of warm too. Not the best way to treat this electric scooter, but it was fun.

 
One comment I got the most at the many fairs and shows I took it to, was that is would be great for students and young people just starting out. Many wanted one to help their work commute. And the throngs also just loved the fun, youthful thrill it serves up in heaps. Like my article on the M3 says, Tool or Toy?, it is both in massive doses.

 
It’s time to send both the M3 and the M5 back to the factory, and I will miss them both dearly. Turbo Bob.

 
“I had a dream about you. You were on a bike going 70 miles an hour, I could see you approaching my car in the mirror. You were trying to say something so, I jumped on the brakes as hard as I could, I guess I forgot I had tied your bike on my bumper.” Georgia Saratsioti, Dreaming is for Lovers.

EcoReco on the web and Facebook

http://ecorecoscooter.com/

https://www.facebook.com/EcoRecoScooter

This is my review on the EcoReco M3

https://turbobobbicycleblog.wordpress.com/2013/12/19/ecoreco-m3-electric-scooter-tool-or-toy/

Here is my video walk-around on the M5

Here is my comparison video between the M5 and M3

I posted many videos on both of these scooters.   You can find them all on my You-Tube channel.   Here is  a favorite.

 

 

About Turbo Bob's Bicycle Blog

E-bike Enthusiast Vintage Bike Enthusiast
This entry was posted in E-bike general interest, E-bike test reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to EcoReco M5—Smooth Sailing

  1. carl says:

    Hi, just bought the M5. My concern is the weight. Very heavy. Tough to commute with, no?

    • Carl, most of the time you are riding, so that 34 lbs. isn’t a problem. They do offer a carry bag with a shoulder strap that could help.
      I have been ok with moving it the small distances between the rides.
      Hope all the other aspects of the M5 are making you happy. Thanks for the comment and following along with my fun, Turbo.

  2. Kobey Dinh says:

    I really hesitated on buying this until I rode it. There are so many options out there but most of them were Chinese knocks offs of this.

  3. Jennie Chen says:

    Have you tried riding it on grass or dirt?

Leave a Reply

