Easy Motion NEO City—E-bike Perfection Draws Closer

Easy Motion NEO City—E-bike Perfection Draws Closer.

Looking good and fun to ride, the NEO City has a lot going for it.

Looking good and fun to ride, the NEO City has a lot going for it.

Looking and riding so much like a regular bicycle, the Easy Motion NEO City has a lot going for it.   This extended test has been great, yet I find myself at a crossroads on how to explain my feelings about it.   I tend to be a positive person and push my mind towards that direction on a steady basis.   Perhaps when a product is so close to being just right, it is easier to find fault in the details.   You be the judge as you absorb this article.

This E-bike is the first version of its kind designed for the North American Market.   Initially introduced here last year, this new model offers the dual-control power system that is not allowed on European shores.   It has intelligent pedelec (a system that senses pedal pressure rather than pedal movement to trigger the electric motor to life).   This intelligent pedelec system is the preferred way to go on E-bikes.   Yet, due to the electronics’ programming, I felt I was more intelligent than the bike on many different occasions.

The Easy Motion E-bikes come from the BH bicycle factory in Spain.   They have been making quality bikes and racing bikes for something like 100 years.   So unlike many E-bikes I test, the bike part is right on and beyond reproach.   For over five years they have been in the E-bike business and seem to have found a great place in the world-wide market.   I do feel that stepping-up their game here in the states will be necessary.

With 24 speeds and smooth shifting, the NEO City even has a chainguard.

With 24 speeds and smooth shifting, the NEO City even has a chainguard.

I got to spend a day last year with part of the crew from Easy Motion.   At that point I rode their NEO Cross and joined them on some sales calls here in town to show-off the NEO line to local E-bike shops.   (Look below for a link to the article I posted on that).   My introduction to Easy Motion E-bikes that day gave me a chance to enjoy the sleek frame with the battery keenly contoured into it.   The great ride quality and fittings they add to their E-bikes was also quite obvious.

The NEO Cross is more of a lay-down styled bike, where this NEO City has the up-right seating position that I prefer.   It has 700c rims and tires that add efficiency, yet do make for a taller bike and one that can catch grooves and ruts in the road surface easier.   As I pondered the drawbacks in the control system (more on that in a minute), I made the trek to Ivan Stewart’s Electric Bike Center to ride the NEO Street model they have on the floor to compare the two.

The Street model comes speced with 26 inch tires with a larger cross-section that I feel is preferable. Almost identical except for the tires, the NEO Street would be the model I would see most people choosing for more comfortable and safer street riding. Although it is a smaller framed bike, so larger riders are steered to this NEO City. I personally feel they should scrub this NEO City and offer the NEO Street in many frame sizes. Both share a dynamo front hub that powers the built-in lighting system that works very nicely.

Here's a close-up of the front hub dynamo that powers the bright lighting system.

Here’s a close-up of the front hub dynamo that powers the bright lighting system.

The other bikes in the NEO line don’t have the lighting package, and I understand that newer models from Easy Motion (City and Street) with factory lights will have them powered off the motor battery (instead of a dynamo) which is much more common here and a less expensive way to do it.   In Europe bikes are legally required to have factory lights and battery powered ones are frowned on, so bringing the standard European set-up for lights to the American models was the move for now.

Other features include a chain guard that easily covers the 24 speed drive train, a strong rack with elastic hold-downs, nice ergo grips, some light-weight fenders with mud guards and a kickstand.   The saddle appeared very inviting, yet it didn’t live up to it’s looks for my contour.   The front fork is great, adjustable and has the kind of strength that one would desire for spirited riding.   The tires are marked puncture-resistant, a thing I am big on with all E-bikes (regular bikes too).   A rear wheel lock is shown on their website, but was absent on my test bike.

Some other differences in the line up find most of the NEO E-bikes with disc brakes.   The City and Street stay with V-brakes that work on the rims of the wheels.   Personally, I like rim brakes, yet most of the higher-end bikes (and E-bikes) nowadays are all equipped with disc brakes.   No matter, as the brakes on this NEO City worked great with no qualms.   And too, the shifting was top-notch with some nice shifters on the handlebars.   I don’t see the need for so many gears on most E-bikes, but it is nice to have a very low-gear for the steeper hills.

This is the view you'll get while riding.

This is the view you’ll get while riding.

At the Interbike Electric Bike Media Event last week I got to try out most all of the Easy Motion NEO line.   They were a key sponsor and exhibitor there.   I also got a chance to ride many of their bikes that aren’t in the NEO line that were on display from Pete’s Electric Bikes.   The Easy Motion NEOs use geared, brushless hub motors to power their E-bikes.   These motors are smooth, powerful and whisper quiet.   Mid-drive set-ups were speced on the ones that Pete’s brought.

Hub motors are still pretty much the norm for most E-bikes.   The reason I mention this is that Easy Motion says their bike offers a regenerative mode under braking.   I can’t say that they don’t, but during the rides, I could feel no extra resistance that would indicate it.   Plus with a geared motor, the mechanism free-wheels when coasting and braking, making me wonder how it could possibly add power to the battery under those situations.   I would need a little more proof that it actually has this feature.   With all my research on E-bike regen systems (and personal experience), I have found even when working, it is more of a gimmick (and sales tool) than a usable feature.

This is one sharp looking E-bike from any angle.

This is one sharp looking E-bike from any angle.

I did quite a bit of riding on this NEO City.   I let my wife ride in on several group rides we’ve done lately.   I normally hand my test bikes around to lots of friends and people I meet during rides, but was a little more reserved with this one.   Part of the reason I didn’t was that I was concerned that people would scuff their feet on the battery housing when mounting and dismounting the bike.  Although it is a low-framed bike, the place for your feet to swing over the bike is small and I didn’t want the bike to get scratched.   The other reasons are still coming (safety concerns).

The bike rides very nicely.   For the most I was pleased with it and enjoyed riding the City immensely.   It is the way the electronics are programmed that draw my dislike.   Before I go there, let me talk about one other feature that I am not sold on.   The handlebars are mounted on a easily adjustable stem.   With a single locking lever, you can change the handlebar height and angle.   Unfortunately I have had bad experiences with these, one in the plastic safety latch breaking easily.   On this stem the main catch is metal, but the slide is plastic.   The other, and bigger problem is if the internal adjustor is not set right, the bars can move quickly and abruptly out of place and cause a loss of control.   I had been lucky not to go down when this happened the first time and I always check it well on any bike I ride with this stem.   And too, I go out of my way to check any other rider’s bike I see with these and explain to them how to set it right.

Do I really need to add a shot of myself in every post?

Do I really need to add a shot of myself in every post?

OK, on to the big things I see the need to be changed on the Easy Motion NEO City (and I would think on all of the NEO line-up for that matter).   Starting from small to big, here is what I think.   I do feel that all these problems could be fixed with a quick movement of keystrokes on the programmer’s laptop.   I have offered to help Easy Motion with them, but they say I am the only person ever (world-wide?) to mount these concerns.   They claim it took years to get it where they wanted and are happy with the way it works.   I messaged back and forth with many at Easy Motion and even had an in-person talk with Steve (CEO at Easy Motion USA) at the Interbike event last week about these failing on their E-bike.

The biggest part I feel I have in evaluating E-bike performance and safety is the feed-back I give to the makers to allow them to get their bikes performing well and to make them as safe as possible for the consumer (you and me, the riders).   Although my words did not fall on deaf ears at Easy Motion, they fell on ears that are convinced I am wrong and they are right.   If you feel the same as me, let them know.   The changes I am recommending are easy and can be reprogrammed into the bikes that are already on the road.   I have worked with reprogramming test E-bikes I have had before and I know it is not that hard.

First up is the lack of smooth, seamless power the Easy Motion offers in the pedelec mode.   I have ridden most of the intelligent pedelec (torque sensed controlled) bikes on the market and found that almost all are great in this respect.   This bike tends to surge (motor turns on and off too quickly) as you ride on level ground with mild pressure to the pedals.   This is not a big deal, causes no safety issue or riding discomfort, yet makes you feel like the bike is not thinking well.   I did feel as if it was wasting power as I rode.   As I said before, I felt I was smarter than the bike at many times.   In addition to this, I feel the electronics need more power level ’notches’ to give a smoother ride under power-assist.

Here is the NEO Street model. It has a smaller frame and 26" large cross-section tires.

Here is the NEO Street model. It has a smaller frame and 26″ large cross-section tires.

The extra ’notches’ would allow you to ride at slower speeds without the surge of power that uses extra battery energy and causes riders to feel as the bike is taking off when they don’t want.   I found this to be an issue at all the power sensitivity levels.   If I used the hand throttle instead of the intelligent pedelec mode, I could make the bike respond to my needs instead of its own.   And that folks is not what I call intelligent pedelec control.   Next, more about the hand throttle.

This E-bike, like many, has a handlebar mounted display unit that gives you info and has buttons to allow changing the bike’s functions.   Most with torque-sensing (intelligent) pedelec allow the throttle to over-ride the pedelec at any time when you feel the need.   This is preferred and allows ’dual-control’.   On the NEO City (and the others in the NEO line), you need to toggle the display buttons to ’no assist’ to allow the throttle to operate the motor.   And so, to get back into the pedelec mode, you need to re-toggle those buttons to do so.   This requires taking your eyes off the road and watching the display to confirm you have found the setting you like.   Very bad and easily changed by the programmer.

More about the display unit before I go on is important to my discussion at this point.   It reads out your bike’s speed (from a sensor in the rear-mounted hub motor).   It will tell you distance and the such, similar to a regular bike computer.   It has three buttons, the middle one is to power up and down the bike.   It also allows you to toggle between the modes on distance traveled and other functions.   The upper and lower buttons have more than one function too.   They can work the level of assist sensitivity between 4 levels and ’no-assist’ (+ and -).   The lower button also turns on the backlight for the display so you can read it at night (I like this).   You need to hold it for about three seconds and then the light comes on.

With a control system with only three simple buttons you would think things would work just right.   In fact the control system is simple and easy to operate.   The bad news is that danger and potential personal injury are lurking in these buttons and the electronics they operate.   Each of these dangers could be easily erased if the programmer set-up the motor so it will only come-on when the bike is already in motion.   Once a E-bike hits a couple mph, the having the motor being able to start to work is the norm for most E-bike companies that offer torque-sensed pedelec systems.   I pleaded with Easy Motion to make these changes, yet they like it this way.   They say no one (but me) has ever mounted these concerns of safety in their system and has never been hurt.   I find that hard to believe.

There are benefits to being able to use the motor from a stop.   Adding a small touch (too much is not good) of power as you begin to move from a stop can help stabilize you and make riding easier and safer.   This is something I like on the E-bikes with throttle only power control.   It does waste some of the battery’s power, but can be useful.   Although if you have ever grabbed the throttle by mistake when reaching for the handlebars you know how dangerous it is as the motor powers up and the bike tries to surge away from you while at rest.   Yes, the NEO can do this too.

Now to the upper button.   If you hold that on you enter the ’walking’ mode.   This is part of where my safety concerns really begin.   It is normal to sometimes dismount your E-bike on very steep hills and push it on up.   When you are doing this it is nice to use some of the motor’s power to help you.   The correct way to do it is to hold the throttle a little bit and find the speed that works for you.   If you hold the upper button on this NEO, the motor will come on and stay on at a pre-determined speed in ’walking mode’.   The deal here is what if you pushed that button by mistake or were trying to turn on the light (that is controlled by the lower button)  and never expected the powerful motor to activate.

Most if not nearly all E-bikes are purchased and ridden by people that are new to biking, haven’t ridden for years or have health and strength issues.   If the motor comes on unexpectedly, even an experienced and strong rider can lose control of the bike.   It can move into traffic, run into objects and people (kids?) and even cause you to fall on or under the bike (I’ve seen it happen).   It is so important that the bike’s motor only comes on when you want it too.   Do you feel the same way?

When you are stopped and waiting for the signal to change or traffic to clear, it is normal to hold your foot on the pedal in the correct orientation as you anticipate getting started again.   If you do that on an Easy Motion NEO the motor will come on.   It is not so much that most people will lose their balance, but it could cause that action.   At the least it is wasting that precious battery power you might need to make the final mile of your journey.   The bike should not want to go when you don’t want it to.   This too is easily changed by the program of the controller.

The biggest danger here I found by mistake at Ivan’s E-bike Center.   As I said I went there to ride the Street model to see if both bike’s control systems operated in the same way, (BTW, they do).   I decided to take some photos of the bike while I was in the street near traffic.   Holding my camera in one hand and moving the bike into a different position with the other, the pedal arm came in contact with the kickstand as the bike rolled backwards.   You may have had this happen with your regular bike and it can be a nuisance.   On this Easy Motion it became a major struggle (or much worse).   We’re talking rearing into a wheelie and hold on to your socks kind of excitement here.

The torque of the pedal arm against the kickstand told the motor to go.   As I pulled back and tried to restrain the bike, the motor kicked in with more power.   As scary as this was at the moment, I was glad it happened so I could report this danger to you.   Maybe I should have turned off the bike’s power switch, but I was only stopped for a minute.   The folks at Easy Motion said I should have been holding the brakes, as each brake handle has a safety motor cut-off switch (something all E-bikes should have).   In the above situations too, holding the brake would keep the motor from starting or running.

Yet, would I hold the brake to try and turn on the display lights?   Would I always hold the brake lever at every stop?   Some might, but as a long time cyclist, I don’t see the need unless I’m on a steep hill or other obstacle.   This bike can try to go when you aren’t ready and I think it shouldn’t.   I think you have gotten a feeling for what I saying here so let’s move on.

My last critique has to do with the battery.   Although it is very sleek and powerful, it can only be charged when removed from the bike.   It has no notch to make removal easier, but it is not too hard to manage that chore.   A carry handle would have gone a long way to make me more comfortable when moving the battery about.   I was also concerned about scratching it when it was placed on different surfaces for charging.   A few times it didn’t tuck back into the frame all the way without some manipulation.   More room for improvement?

This bike has all the tools to be every man’s and woman’s bike.   I would suggest that if you have one already or are planning to get one, that you consider all I’ve said here.   This is the longest review I’ve written to date and do I feel this bike is worth the effort to go that last step to make it perfect.   I would be surprised to see Easy Motion share my review on any of their social media pages, yet I hope they do.   They have got a great product here that can be awesome with the smallest additional effort on their part.   I hope they choose to listen.   If and when they make the changes I have outlined, you can be sure I will report on them in full.

So close yet so far away, Turbo Bob.

“Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do!

I’m half crazy, all for the love of you!

It won’t be a stylish marriage,

I can’t afford a carriage,

But you’ll look sweet upon the seat

Of a bicycle built for two”.

—Harry Dacre, Daisy Bell.

Have a look at the video I posted on the NEO City

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LlMnjUxyV4

Read the article I wrote on meeting the Easy Motion crew

https://turbobobbicycleblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/emotion-e-bikes-first-look/

Easy Motion USA can be found on the web and Facebook

http://www.emotionbikesusa.com/

https://www.facebook.com/EasyMotionUsa?ref=ts&fref=ts

You can find Easy Motion NEO E-bikes locally at Ivan Stewart’s Electric Bike Center

http://iselectricbikecenter.com/

https://www.facebook.com/iselectricbikecenter

About Turbo Bob's Bicycle Blog

E-bike Enthusiast Vintage Bike Enthusiast
This entry was posted in E-bike test reviews, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Easy Motion NEO City—E-bike Perfection Draws Closer

  1. Jim says:

    Great review! I love your honest, thoughful, and thorough, reviews.

    • Thanks Jim. Yes this review was one of the harder ones to write. It seems to be doing what is intended to do, that is make the buyer and seller both aware of what it takes to enjoy a safe and dependable E-bike on a daily basis.
      Thanks for reading and offering your feed-back, Turbo.

  2. Let me say that we are proud to be an Easy Motion dealer. We love these bikes, our customers love them and you are right, they are as close to perfection as any e-bike out there. I also want to thank you for your candid review. Our goal should be to make riding an e-bike, especially for leisure riders, as safe as an experience as possible and leave little room for any type of incident.

    • Gary, I like the fact that Easy Motion is treating you so well. They seem to be a company with the rider in mind. That makes me think they will do what it takes to keep their (and your) customers happy and riding.
      Do keep in mind what I have posted here and what it will take to get Easy Motion to make their E-bikes the best on the market.
      Turbo.

  3. RBS says:

    A “review” that doesn’t address potential pitfalls/problems isn’t a review it’s an advertisement. Which is why I enjoy reading what you write. Unfortunately most ebikes look and ride like tanks. I’m still looking for an off the shelf ebike that rides like a bicycle with the benefit of power when needed/wanted which is why I’ll continue to use kits and do the modifications myself.

    Nobody has come close to the Cycle Analyst and until you own and use one you simply can’t understand just how valuable the information provided by the Cycle Analyst is to the ebike experience. Every ebike should incorporate the Cycle Analyst.

    One day the right mix of ebike will arrive. For me that means 20mph (with a little bit of headroom), 36V 15ah standard (So I can actually go 20 miles should I decide not to pedal at all) and have the power needed to climb hills without having to put a ton of effort should I desire not too.

    I’d like to see front and rear suspension systems. They can do it on mountain bikes why not ebike commuters? Better Geometry – it appears the Geometry on this bike is quite good. I fully understand the ramifications of 20mph in an upright position into a headwind, but so what? That’s why I want the electric assist?

    Ebikes should have FAT tires – even if they already have dual suspension (They provide different benefits). Balloon tires at 2.35″ ride well and roll well, so there is no reason not to use them on an electric assist bicycle. Plus you’ll likely want “flat proof” or at least to run liners, so what is the point of narrow tires? The rolling resistance on fat tires is almost the same and the comfort more than compensates for any perceived differences while riding on the flats. And you have assist so who cares about efficiency of rotational mass due to the weight while riding uphills?

    I’d also like to see clean efficient mid drive designs to take advantage of gearing and don’t make horrendous noises or break chains.

    Non proprietary battery systems are a must for me. With the way technology changes it’s ridiculous to design around any one battery that’s on the market today. Until there are standard groupings like automotive batteries it just doesn’t make sense. This is my primary gripe with Bionx and why I’d never purchase their kit.

    I currently pull 20 mile rides with hills on less than 6AH with my current conversion at 15mph average and 30mph peak on my recumbent and no back wrist arm or neck pain at all when I’m done. The downside is that cars tend to steer towards me not away from me when they see me. I’ve had many close calls. Having assist to get across intersections is a big benefit, but it does mean that sometimes you have to hit the assist BEFORE you start pedaling on a recumbent due to low speed handling issues on some bikes.

    “They say no one (but me) has ever mounted these concerns of safety in their system and has never been hurt. I find that hard to believe.” — The reason of course is due to inexperience of the general public. They wouldn’t have any idea what to look for or how to assess a problem if they have no experience with how something SHOULD work. But the market will sort itself out as it grows and customers begin to educate themselves. But if they choose not to listen to your input what can you do? Consumers are not inspectors… if they see a problem what is their incentive to tell you? They just move along to the next manufacturer that doesn’t have the problem. Hows that Blackberry Phone working out for you Mr. Consumer? What you are using an iPhone because Apple is smart enough to care what consumers want?

    I’m actually looking for a “guest bike” with upright geometry so my guests can visit and ride along with me.

    All in all I think this is a pretty nice bike compared to some of the others I’ve seen but it does appear there are issues to be addressed and this is one of your very best reviews. Thanks.

    • RBS, you hit some great points in this comment. It is good to see your words here with mine.
      I will continue to do my best to not hawk for the companies, but work with them to make things better for all concerned. In addition to having lots of fun with bikes, my #1 goal is to help make them better.
      Kudos, Turbo.

  4. BBleiman says:

    This review appears to be the first real review of this bike in the U.S. I am quite disappointed as I was seriously considering making the purchase in the spring. The bike seems to be a bit too “squirrelly” to be safe. It is surprising that the company has not responded to your comments with greater sincerity. It is, however, one of the nicest looking e-bikes on the market. What would be the best alternative currently on the market?

    • BB, don’t give up on the Easy Motion camp just yet. The needed adjustments can be downloaded into the bike in a jiff. They just need to make the decision to do it.
      There are some bikes on the market similar to the NEO line, but the buy-in is a little steeper. I am hesitant to list them here, but I will see about sending you a message with some options that are here in the U.S. It might take a day or two, but expect it.
      Thanks for the question, Turbo.

      • BB, I just noticed you have commented more here, yet I didn’t respond as promised on this question.
        The two E-bikes with this control system I have ridden that are programmed in what I consider a safe way are–the eFlow E3 Nitro–and any E-bike with a BionX motor system.
        Did you read the full article I wrote on torque-sensor based control systems?
        Sorry to make you wait for this, Turbo.

  5. Mahmoud Nazerian says:

    How much is the price for this bike?

    • Hi Mahmoud, thanks for asking here, but the truth is I don’t really talk prices much on my bike blog. Every now and then if it is needed, I will. Usually on up-grades or repair parts.
      Just follow the link to the maker I have included and if that doesn’t say, then follow their link to your nearest dealer to find the asking price.
      I hope you find your dream E-bike, Turbo.

  6. BBleiman says:

    Today we finally had some warm weather in the Northeast so I drove to Connecticut to try the Neo bikes. I tested both the Neo City and the Neo Cross. Although the City was a bit easier to get on and off, the appearance of the Cross was great. The ride was fairly upright and with swapping the seat for the saddle of the City it was more comfortable. I have to agree with you in a big way that, although I am new to electric bikes the pedelec system does not seem right. It is most noticeable on flat terrain. Even in the Eco mode, the bike accelerates strongly with mild pressure and you cannot keep a constant speed if you keep pedaling. With every small amount of pressure on the pedal you keep accelerating. It was only after putting the bike in the very highest gear, was I able to put practically no pressure on the pedal and keep a steady speed. It would seem in the Eco mode, at least, that you would only draw power when you are trying to accelerate, not with mild pressure to maintain speed.
    I really like the bike but, as the bike technician put it, “on flat terrain you just have to take it out of assist and pedal using the throttle when you need it.” That would seem to defeat the purpose and in Europe, they don’t have that option. I only hope more people try the bike and give their feedback so maybe this could be rectified. Good luck!

  7. justin says:

    I have two Neos, the Jumper and a City for my wife. Although I can see the drawbacks you mention, they are really very small, easily understood and avoided or one can live them, at the very least.
    I know it must be scary when an ebike bites in some way, enough to make one distrust it. But I feel if a BH owner gets a few days to a week of familiarity with how it all works, they won’t ever find it does anything that catches them by surprise.
    The surging on the flat is not a physical sensation, it is more that the motor is not finding a steady state of power. You can feel the assist gently applying and disengaging, but I don’t believe it is inefficient, and there is barely any physical change in speed.

  8. Rachel says:

    Thanks very much for this informative review!!

    I am seriously considering a Neo City. Because I will have my child on the bike with me sometimes, I’m quite concerned with the safety issues you raise in this article.

    I have a question: I know this sounds kind of drastic, but would your safety concerns be allayed by putting the bike in throttle-only mode and covering up the computer so that the buttons could not accidentally be pushed? I would be willing to do this while riding with my daughter, since that’s a small part of my bicycle time. Thanks so much!

    • Rachel, although I have had limited contact with Easy Motion since this was posted, they did tell me that their plan for customer safety on this E-bike is to educate the new owner at the time of purchase. I think we can all see how effective this will be in the overall world view.
      Unfortunately, more companies are coming out with torque-sensed systems that are programmed similar to these bikes. I did a full post on this type of control system. Did you see it?
      The button thing bothers me, but the kickstand jamming part is one of my main concerns. That could be resolved with a rear mount kickstand that you see on many bikes already.
      It is up to you what kind of E-bike you buy, but the ones that work well with this system are the eFlow E3 Nitro and any E-bike with a BionX motor system (that I have ridden so far).
      Make sure to ride all the ones on your list to make 100% sure you are happy with all the features and the way it rides.
      Thanks for asking.

  9. Average Joe Cyclist says:

    Thanks for a comprehensive review. I actually own this bike and wrote a review on my blog (AverageJoeCyclist). My wife owns an Emotion Street and will write a review on that in the next week. I agree with some of your safety concerns. However I disagree about the need for a delay on power kick-in when pulling off. I love that the power is always on because it helps me pull off. This is a big help especially if I am pulling off on an uphill. My Bionx used to have a delay and I had some scary moments on that, pulling off on uphills in traffic. By the way, exactly how did your handlebars come loose? I am worried about that now .

    • Hey Average Joe, thanks for the comment. I’ve seen you on-line before.
      The industry is still shaking out the best settings for torque-assist control. It is on more and more bikes. I understand what you are saying, yet I still like the delay better (for many reasons). One being that a large amount of E-bikers just can’t handle a bike that tries to go when the bike is stopped.
      I think I pointed out the stem deal pretty well. On some bikes you might see with this style stem, the units are not well built, This one is ok. You are seeing more with a dual clamping system too. Like a seat post quick release, it needs to be tight enough, but not too tight. The adjustment is tucked underneath the mechanism, but is easy to access. With time it might loosen, just keep a close eye on it if it does. Test it from time to time with a firm push down on the hand grips
      These stems are for bikes that will be used by many people. I would can that stem and put in one that fits you and has simple securing fasteners. That’s the way I like it.
      Turbo.

      • Hi Bob. I think you have a good point. I had someone say to me the other day, “What’s the difference between an electric bike and a couch with an engine?” I found that extremely offensive, and it was meant to be offensive – it wasn’t a real question. However, behind the general annoyance I feel when someone is ignorant and offensive, there is a deeper issue: basically people assume that adding an engine to a bike makes it easier to ride. But on the contrary, an electric bike takes a higher level of skill to control than a regular bike. (With great power comes great responsibility!)
        I have certainly felt this many times when an electric bike has almost got me into trouble because the power just takes me off a little bit faster than I expected. Luckily I am a very experienced cyclist, so I have always managed to deal with the situation (although there have been some close shaves!) But I do think there should be a wider understanding that electric bikes take skill to control.
        Interestingly, I experienced one of the situations you warn about yesterday morning. I was hauling my bike out of the elevator, and the pedals pushed against the kickstand, causing the bike to surge towards the elevator. Luckily the door had just closed, so the bike hit the door and bounced back at me and I was able to control it. Lesson learned for me – switch off the engine the minute I get off the bike! And get the kickstand out of the way immediately as well.
        Still, it does seem to suggest that powerful bikes like this should come with a set of safety warnings.
        As for the adjustable stem – I must admit, when I first saw it I just thought, “Cool!” The first time I rode it, I stopped and adjusted the handlebars 4 times. But then I found the perfect spot, and I have never adjusted them again. Which caused me to think, maybe this is a pointless “feature” for a single-user bike. And more so if it creates a weak point. So far it looks very solid, but it is early days, and I will be keeping an eye on it.
        Other than that, still loving the bike!
        Joe

  10. Thanks for the review Bob. I was looking at a used one. After reading this I won’t be looking at it anymore.

Leave a Reply

