Tern Link P9—Folding Bike Test—Fast and Sleek

Riding along the waterfront is so fun and satisfying on my new Tern Link P9.

Tern Link P9—Folding Bike Test—Fast and Sleek.

Fresh on the market place is my new Tern Link P9.   This fantastic folding bike is a product of the recent business split of a father and son.   I have yet to learn all the details on that, but I can say that this new bike is a beauty.   Well out-fitted and looking good, this little folder is all mine.

With a new loaner E-Brompton coming my way, I decided that having a pair of folding bikes would make for some fun as my wife and I travel about.   So as Bert and Peter at NYCeWheels oked my test of their custom converted Brompton, I ordered up this bike from them to be delivered at the same time.   I did some deep digging and investigation, and found that this Tern was a lot of bike for the money.   I was so right.

Mine is in a total stealth black color scheme, with some red trim and the smallest amount of silver.   Just looking at it is almost as satisfying as riding it.   And the riding is so good.   With a wide range of gears and a rock solid feel, I am enjoying all aspects of this bike.   It has some great new features (hinges) on the aluminum frame that make folding easy and the un-folded bike very secure.

Reading the spec sheet reminds me of some kind of space ship.   Some very high-tech pieces have come together to make such a gem.   A lot of aluminum was forged and hammered into shape for this folder.   Name brands are dropped left and right too.   All this makes for a light-weight and stylish bicycle.   You can go on NYCeWheels website or the Tern website to see what I am talking about.

The nine-speed drivetrain has plenty of gear ratios that match my riding style.   The shifts are quick and smooth.   The grip mounted twist shifter feels nice and clicks into each setting with ease.   The derailleur is compact, matching well with the folding nature of the Tern Link P9.   There is a circular guard ring mounted on the front chainring to protect your pants from getting to involved with the gears and chain.

A firm set of V-brakes add to the package of stopping power.   The brake handles are kind of stubby, but have a good feel.   All of the cables are high-end and tuck out of the way when the bike is folded.   The double-walled wheels have CNCed sidewalls to allow the brakes to grab strong and smooth.

Mounted to the rims are a pair of Schwalbe Marathon Supreme tires.   They have a near smooth tread and give great grip.   The ride they offer is more than satisfactory.   They are a premium tire, just like so many other components on this bike.   This 20 inch package gives a lot of security when riding on rough and grooved roads.   That all adds up to a solid ride with a great feel.

Speced so well and riding so nice, I couldn’t be any happier with my new folding bike.

Sealed cartridge bearings seem to be a theme on this Tern folder.   Quick-release skewers are installed front and rear.   A light-weight strong kick-stand is even mounted up to the middle of the frame.   The saddle is narrow and light.   I found it to be quite comfortable during a few of the longer rides I have taken so far.   There is even a pair of ergo grips to round out the cool items you can expect your Tern to have.   The metal piece in the right hand grip is a multi-sized allen wrench for making adjustments.

This folder compacts down fairly small.   It is a little wider than the smallest folders, but not to matter, as it is very light-weight.   It has a magnet that matches up to a metal disc at the back wheels to hold the bike together while folded.   I have added a short strip of double-sided Velcro that I use to around the rear wheels to make sure it doesn’t unfold while I am carrying and moving it.   When it is un-folded, I just wrap it (the Velcro strip) around the frame behind the seat post to keep it handy.

The shipping from NYCeWheels didn’t take too long.   I received the bike with no damage.   After looking it over, I went through the same routine I follow on all the bikes I receive for testing.   After a quick peek at the included manual, I aired-up the tires to the max setting of 85 Lbs.   I went over all the fasteners to check for tightness.   I checked all the brake and shifting adjustments.   I tilted the seat back a bit and set it to the maximum rearward spot.

I did change the angle of the front wheel skewer to tuck it in a little closer to the fork.   I snapped the cool rear reflector / blinking LED light onto the seat rails.   This is a nice piece that all bikes should come with.   I will do a little looking to see if I can find some more just like it for a few of my other bikes.   It took some riding to find my optimum angle on the grips and brake levers.   The same for the saddle as I have tilted it back a touch more.   I am so pleased with the way it fits me and all the parts that make up my new Tern.
I have taken it on many rides in the short time I have had it.   The folding feature will add to the convenience and ability to secure it by my side at most all stops.   What a great bike, I am so glad it is the folding bike I have decided on.   Let the fun continue, Turbo.

“The best way to ride, especially downhill, is with both hands in your pockets and leaning backwards.   This is not so hard as it looks; like a bird, you control your direction perfectly by unconscious shifts in your balance.   Especially on the long downslopes, this is to know the freedom of the wind.”—Louis J. Halle Jr., Spring in Washington.

I got mine from NYCeWheels, you can too.

http://www.nycewheels.com/

You can also see it on Tern’s website

http://www.ternbicycles.com/

Here’s a link to an article I wrote about my Tern Link P9 that is posted on the NYCeWheels blog site.

http://folding-bike.us/blog/2012/07/17/tern-link-p9-folding-bike/

I did this video on my Tern Link P9–take a look

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGm7RFuUSjE

About Turbo Bob's Bicycle Blog

E-bike Enthusiast Vintage Bike Enthusiast
This entry was posted in Folding Bike test reviews, My Bikes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tern Link P9—Folding Bike Test—Fast and Sleek

  1. stewart says:

    The clip on light is called a TailLight and is available from BioLogic and is available through dealers or via the online store – more information from the website

    http://www.thinkbiologic.com/products/taillight-safety-light

    • Thanks for the info, Stewart. I am loving the price too. NYCeWheels are shipping me a couple more of these great designed rear lights right now. I might need more, as we use our front and rear blinking lights in the daytime as well as the night. Finding it with my new Tern was almost as cool as the bike is.
      I just submitted a article on my Tern Link P9 for the NYCeWheels website. It will be posted soon. Like this post, it talks big of how much I am enjoying this fantastic bike. I got a chance to see many of the other bikes in the Tern line-up at CicLAvia.
      Much success will be had when you offer such nice products.

  2. Christian says:

    Hi Bob,

    Just had a knee surgery. The surgeon gave me the advice to ride a bike again (after 15 years of inactivity). I still have a Merlin TI MTB under the dust… that I am selling.
    I want to buy a folding bike now, not to commute (I am 67 and retired) but to transport easily with my car. I live in a flat region, with no hills but sometimes very windy at the seashore.
    I tried a Tern Link D8 and a Dahon Mu P8. Liked the Tern better but I think there is not much difference. Planning to buy a Tern Link P9 if it is much better. I would appreciate your advice here!
    I also tried a Brompton 3 speed (-12%). Loved it, but it is much more expensive…
    It seems that 16 inch wheels are less comfortable than 20 inch wheels. I don’t agree…!
    Kind regards
    Christian

    • Christian, by all means start riding. Bad news is the Tern Link P7 is now out of production, yet there are bound to be some still on sales floors. I am partial to the Terns, being just a bit nicer (the better hinges are just one reason). You might also consider a electric-assist folding bike. Tern has one out with another on the way.
      BTW, the extra expense of the Brompton is fully justified, they are great bikes,

  3. Christian says:

    I can buy Link P9 without problems here. Shall I go for the Link P9 or for the Link D8?
    Thanks
    Christian

Leave a Reply

